SeaShorts Film Festival – Programme 2020

SeaShortsFilmFestival2020We take a look at the programme from the SeaShorts Film Festival (Malaysia) which will take place Online from September 12th – 20th (2020).

This year due to the Covid-19 Pandemic and considering the new normal on social distancing, the organizers decided to hold an online festival. This year from the 544 films submitted, 30 were nominated for this year’s SeaShorts Award. 6 Malaysian shorts were also selected for the Next New Wave Award. In addition, there will be prizes for best director, screenplay, cinematography, edition, sound and acting.

Winners will be decided by a jury composed of Cambodian-French filmmaker Davy Chou, Indonesian cinematographer Anggi Frisca, Philippine producer Bianca Balbuena, Singaporean sound engineer Rennie Gomes, and Malaysian historian Dr. Farish A. Noor.

This year the festival will also showcase selected works from Japan’s Image Forum Festival, Taiwan’s Golden Harvest Awards, Kaohsiung Film Festival and Singapore’s National Youth Film Awards. The opening film will be Mekong 2030, an omnibus film encompassing different outlooks on the eponymous river from the five countries that straddle it. Each screening will be accompanied by a Q&A session, forums, masterclasses and workshops.

SeaShorts is made possible with the support of The Japan Foundation Asia Center, Taipei Economic and Cultural Office in Malaysia, Taipei Ministry of Culture, Singapore National Youth Film Awards by SCAPE, Purin Pictures, National Film Development Corporation Malaysia (Finas), Da Huang Pictures, Sinema Media, Aputure Imaging Industries, Deity Microphones, and Zoom Corporation.

Pleas remember that festival passes are now on sale at the early bird price of USD5 until 23rd August and USD10 thereafter. For more information go to

SeaShorts Main Competition Award
A Closed Mouth Catches No Flies by Destian Rendra Pratama, Indonesia
A Day Will Come by Tinshine Mont and Christine Flemming, Thailand
A Remembering of Disremembering by Cris A. Bringas, Philippines
Aishah by Sayyid Hannan, Malaysia *
BURA by Eden Junjung, Indonesia
By The Southern Sea by Vincent Kong Yentao, Malaysia *
Elsa by Lim Jen Nee, Singapore
Evening Stroll by Candra Aditya, Indonesia
Gimbal: A Bet Between Tradition and Pride by Sidiq Ariyadi, Indonesia
Here, Here by Joanne Marian B. Cesario, Philippines
How He Met My Mother by Colin Huang Ruobin, Singapore
Hush, tonight the dead are dreaming loudly by Kong Pahurak, Thailand
Kampung Gajah by Yoeng Kuok Hong, Malaysia *
Ladies’ Choice by Celina Peñaflorida, Philippines
Last Time I Was An Actress by Grace Constance Song Jia Ern, Singapore
Mary, Mary, So Contrary by Nelson Yeo, Singapore
Peon by June Wong, Shaiful Yahya, and Syaz Zainal, Malaysia *
Prelude of the moving zoo by Sorayos Prapapan, Thailand
Ruwatan by Ernest Lesmana, Indonesia
Shitpost by Wimar Herdanto, Indonesia
Star by Carla Pulido Ocampo, Philippines
Stay Awake, Be Ready by Pham Thien An, Vietnam
Sunny Side of the Street by Andrew Kose, Indonesia
The Cloud Is Still There by Mickey Lai Loke Yee, Malaysia *
The Graduation of Edison by Pham Hoang Minh Thy, Vietnam
The Man Who Isn’t There and Other Stories of Longing by Rom Trishtan Perez, Philippines
The Quiet by Radheva Jegatheva, Malaysia *
The Slums by Jan Andrei Cobey, Philippines
This Is Our Land by Nonilon Abao, Philippines
Uncle Goose Waits For A Phone Call by Kew Lin Qin Zhi, Singapore

* Next New Wave Award nominee

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.