Skip City International D-Cinema Festival


Dates: July 16th – 24th, 2016
Place: Saitama, Japan

With the recent development of digital tools, new found freedom of expressions is now wide-spreading regardless of age, experience, and culture and creating new business models. SKIP CITY INTERNATIONAL D-Cinema FESTIVAL is an international competitive film festival with a focus on films shot and edited solely on digital.

Since the inception in 2004, the festival has been held annually seeking high quality innovative submissions from all over the world exploring new possibility for digital expression. Our aim is to discover the next generation of filmmakers and support the development of new kind of audio-visual industry.

The festival features three competition categories: Feature Length Competition, which accepts submissions from all over the world, and Short Length Competition and Animation Competition, which accepts domestic submissions only. Starting in 2009, the SKIP CITY AWARD has been awarded to Japanese films to support the up and coming Japanese filmmakers and their activities at SKIP City. The Short Length Competition and Animation competition have been limited to the works by Japanese filmmakers in order to provide support for emerging talent.

For the Feature Length, Short Length and Animation Competitions, the jury consists of film industry professionals in and out of Japan. After the pre-selection process, the finalists are screened to be judged by the jury during the festival and the awards are given at the closing ceremony.

All the finalists are screened with 4K digital cinema projectors at the state of the art theaters during the festival. The audience members have opportunities to interact with filmmakers from all over the world as well as the jurors and other film industry professionals.

We encourage filmmakers to seize business opportunities and hope to become a springboard for the audacious young filmmakers.

News & Articles:
07.26.2016 – Winners of the Skip City International D-Cinema Festival 2016