Film Festival

International Short Film Festival “Flickerfest” – Awards 2016


We present the list of winners of the 25th International Short Film Festival “Flickerfest” that took place from the 8th until the 17th of January in Bondi Beach, Sydney (Australia).

The Flickerfest is considered in international circles as one of the leading Australian competitive short film festival and increasingly filmmakers view it as one of the main festivals on the world circuit. To maintain this high standard each year the festival director visits festivals around the world seeking new films most of which have not been seen in Australia.

International Competition
Best International Short Film

Balcony by Toby Fell-Holden – United Kingdom | 2015 – 17 min.

Special Mention

Alles wird gut (Everything will be okay) by Pratrick Vollrath – Germany | 2015 – 30 min.

Best International Short Animation

Celui qui a deux ames (He who has two souls) by Fabrice Luang-Vija – France | 2015 – 17 min.

Best Use of Digital Technology in a Short Film

Dissonance by Till Nowak – Germany | 2015 – 17 min.

Australian Competition
Best Australian Short Film

Slingshot by David Hansen – Australia | 2015 – 7 min.

Special Mention

Nulla Nulla by Dylan River – Australia | 2014 – 6 min.

Best Director

Brooke Goldfinch for the film Red Rover – Australia, USA | 2015 – 15 min.

Best Australian Short Animation

The Orchestra by Mikey Hill and Jennifer Smith – Australia | 2015 – 15 min.

Best Cinematography

Michael Latham for the film Reg Makes Contact by Corrie Chen – Australia | 2015 – 11 min.

Best Editing in an Australian Short Film

Nina Buton for the film Woof! – Australia | 2015 – 8 min.

International Documentary Competition
Best Short Documentary Film

A tale of love, madness and death by Mijael Bustos – Chile | 2015 – 22 min.

Special Mention for Documentary

Giovanni and the Water Ballet by Astrid Bussink – The Netherlands | 2014 – 17 min.

International Greenflicks Competition
Best Environmental Short Film

A Passion of Gold and Fire by Sébastien Pins – Belgium | 2014 – 6 min.

Special Mention

Burnt by Devin Bell – United States | 2015 – 6 min.

National Flickerup Competition
Best High School Production

Malcolm & John by Miles Gibson – Australia | 2015 – 6 min.

Best High School Animation

Introspection by Lara Nguyen – Australia | 2015 – 8 min.

Best Editing

My Future by Olivia DeJonge – Australia | 2015 – 5 min.

Best Primary School Production

Teacher’s Pet by Tracey Rigney – Australia | 2015 – 6 min.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.