Jaipur International Film Festival – Awards 2016


We present the winners of the 8th Jaipur International Film Festival that took place from the 2nd until the 6th of 2016 in the city of Jaipur (India).

Launched in January 2009, Jaipur International Film Festival -JIFF became expanding establishing name in organizing world film festival every year in Rajasthan. The purpose of this film festival is to promote new movie makers, exchange of knowledge, information, ideas & culture between India & other nations in context of their social and cultural ethos. JIFF also promotes friendship and co-operation among people of the world through the medium of films & documentaries.

Though the film festivals have became a regular affair in most countries yet most of them cater only to selected audience as well as entertain the commercially successful film makers and related personalities. However, JIFF intends to organize a festival that connects the film fans & movie goers with the world, especially the serious filmmakers & their associates so as to bring about greater understanding of the art of film making.

Documentary Films
Best Documentary

Smajl by Philipp Majer – Germany

Special Jury Mention

Chekov’s Everyman by Amir Cohn – Israel

Short Films
Best Short Film

Plein Soleil by Fred Castadot – Belgium

Best Script

Subhajit Dasgupta & Sandeep Shikhar for the film
Chimes by Subhajit Dasgupta – India

Best Director

Hadi Khanjanpour for the film Dr. Illegal – Germany

Best Editor

Alejandro Brodersohn, Alejandro Carrillo Penovi & Jose Manuel
for the film In the Clouds – Argentina

Best Cinematographer

Satchith Paulose for the film Listener by Tarun Dudeja – India

Best Sound Editor

Wim Frenssen for the film The Pond by Jeroen Dumoulein – Belgium

Special Jury Mention

Dany Rabbit by Martin Talbot Henri, Louis-Philippe Beauchamp – Canada

Best Comedy Film

El’ Ayichi by Devashish Makhija – India

Best Children Film

Blinder Passagier by Maria Brendle – Switzerland

Best Current Issue Film

Good Luck Café by Yuvraj Singh, Luke Kenny – India

Best Political Film
Ausstieg Rechts (Exit Right) by Rupert Holler, Bernhard Wenger – Germany

Best Women Film
Best Friend Forever by Sandeep Modi – India

Best War and Peace Film

Nabilah by Paul Meschuh – Afghanistan

Best Romantic Film

Into the Clouds by Marcelo Mitnik – Argentina

Best Horror Film

The Pond by Jeroen Dumoulein – Belgium

Coming Stars Panorama
Best Upcoming Film

A Bohemia Musician by Rochak Sahu – India

Special Jury Mention

Razor by Rajko Ristanovic – India

U Turn Rajasthan Panorama
Best Film
Cheer by Deepankar Prakash – India

Animation Category
Best Animation Film

True Love Story by Gitanjali – India

Special Jury Mention Animation Film

Yellow by Nishant Bahukhandi – India

Feature Film Category

Monochrome by Tom Lawes – United Kingdom

Red Rose

Piku – Motion se hi Emotion by Shoojit Sircar – India

Green RoseUntil Ahmed Returns by Sadegh Daghighi – Iran

Yellow Rose

Misfortune by Desmond Devenish – USA

Best Debutante Director

Hasan Nazer for the film Utopia – Afghanistan

Best Actress Award

Sareh Bayat for the film Oblivion Season by Abbas Rafei – Iran

Best Actor Award

Sarmad Sultan Khoosay for the film Manto by Sarmad Sultan Khoosat – Pakistan

Best Original Screenplay Award

Juhi Chaturvedi for the film Piku – Montion se hi Emotion by Shoojit Sircar – India

Best Sound and Editing Award

Manto by Sarmad Sultan Khoosay – Pakistan

Best Cinematography Award

Monochrome by Tom Lawes – United Kingdom

Special Jury Mention Award

Teenkahon (Three Obsessions) by Bauddhayan Mukherji – India

Best Political Film
Ek Hota Valya by Sharadchandra Jadhav – India

Best Women Film

Track 143 by Narges Abyar – Iran

Best War and Peace Film
Until Ahmad Returns by Sadegh Daghighi – Iran

Best Romantic Film

Krishnamma Kalipindi Iddarini by R. Chandru – India

Best Horror Film
Maskoun by Sharif Abdunnur, Krystle Houiess – UAE, Lebanon, Egypt

Documentary Feature Film Category
Golden Camel

Iiris Harma for the film Leaving Africa – Finland

Green Rose
Making an Ancient Forest- Kalkalpen National Park by Rita Schlamberger – Austria

Best Sound and Editing Award

K2 and the Invisible Footmen by Iara Lee – USA

Best Cinematography Award

K2 and the Invisible Footmen by Iara Lee – USA

International Screenplay Competition
1st Top Screenplay
The Savage Girl by Owen Renfroe

2nd Top Screenplay
Veni Vidi Fugi by Robert Eugen Popa & Timothy M. Brice – Romania

3rd Top Screenplay
Bhidu by Milind Shinde – India

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.